I am… Ishtar

9 12 2008

Ishtar

Ishtar

When I am sitting at the door of a tavern,

I, Ishtar, the goddess,

Am prostitute, mother, wife, divinity,

I am what people call life,

Although you call it death,

I am what people call law,

Although you call it delinquency,

I am what you seek

And what you find.

I am what you scattered

And the pieces you now gather up.

For I am the first and the last

I am the venerated and the despised

I am the prostitute and the saint

I am the wife and the virgin

I am the mother and the daughter

I am the arms of my mother

I am barren and my children are many

I am the married woman and the spinster

I am the woman who gives birth and she

Who never procreated

I am the consolation for the pain of birth

I am the wife and the husband

And it was my man who created me

I am the mother of my father

I am the sister of my husband

And he is my rejected son

Always respect me

For I am shameful and the magnificent one

dicovered in Nag Hammadi third or fourth century B.C.

Edited by me.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

